The Covid Diary: Jennifer, 24 years, Ghana

Hi, my name is Jennifer, I’m 24 years old and currently living in Ghana. I got here in September, 2019. I came to Ghana to try and built a live for myself, because this was going quite well, I decided to stay here. Despite the upcoming Corona crisis and extra flights home. 

I did move from the capital city to a small town, 1,5 hour drive removed from the biggest city in Ghana. I live here in a guest house, where I also lived the first 3 months of my stay here. So I knew exactly where I would end up. In a city called Accra and a few other cities, there’s a lockdown going on. Where I am staying I have a lot of freedom. We are allowed to go to the village (a five minute walk away) but we’re not doing that. We live here with five of us, 3 adults and 2 kids, the personnel comes in shifts. Everyone is properly informed on the restrictions and precautions, social distancing, washing hands and so on. To be honest, days are flying by, but we don’t know how long this will last. The lockdown officially ends upcoming Monday, but we have to see if they will extend it or not. 

There are 300 infected so far in Ghana, especially in the capital city. So far I feel good and safe here. Of course I need to wait and see how it will evolve and if things get worse, but if you didn’t know better, everything looks (almost) normal here where I’m staying.

By the way, this is my 11th time here in Ghana + my goal to build a life here, are the reasons I didn’t go back to the Netherlands. If I was on a vacation or if this was my first visit I would’ve gone back home.

“The dutch government did a good job trying to get me a flight.” 

Do you want to know more about my story?

Deel dit via: